Promotion Galore In Nigerian Army …As Brig Gen Taiwo, Reps Of Army At #EndSARS Panel Now Two-Star General

By: Okosun Dennis

The Nigerian Army Council has approved the promotion of senior officers to the rank of Lieutenant Colonels, Colonels, Brigadiers General and Major Generals in the Nigerian Army.c

A break indicates that 39 Brigadiers General were elevated to Major Generals, 97 Colonels were promoted to Brigadiers General, while 104 Lieutenant Colonels were moved to their next rank of a Colonel. Also, 177 Majors were promoted to the rank of a Lieutenant Colonels.

The official list of the promoted officers signed by the Military Secretary (Army), Major General GAT Ochigbano and titled: PROMOTION NA OFFICERS BOARD NUMBERS 1, 2, 3 AND 4/2020 has Brigadier General Ahmed Taiwo, the Commander, 81 Division Intelligence Brigade and who has been the officer in the eye of the storm on the ongoing Lagos State Judicial Panel on Restitution for Victims of SARS Related Abuses and other Matters Panel, promoted to a Major General.

Also promoted a Two-Star General included the former Director, Defence Information (DDI) Brig Gen Rabe Abubakar, who is now a Major General.

Others who also got promoted to Major General include: Brig Gen KN Garba – NATRAC; Brig Gen A Bande, Headquarters, 8 Division; Brig Gen CV Eze, Office of the Chief Of Army Staff and appointed (Deputy Coordinator Nigerian Army Special Project); Brig Gen AK Ibrahim, Headquarter 7 Division/Sector Operation Lafia Dole, Brig Gen GB Audu, Defence Headquarters.

Also promoted are: Brig Gen KI Yusuf, HQ NAFC; Brig Gen OO Oluyede, Sector 2 OPLD; Brig Gen BR Sinjen, AHQ Directorate of Army Training and Operations; Brig Gen OO Soyele, DHQ; Brig Gen UU Bassey, NARC; Brig Gen JO Ochai, NARC; Brig Gen SI Igbinomwanhia, Sector 3 OPLD; Brig Gen MG Kangye, NASA; Brig Gen EAP Undiandeye, Defence Intelligence Agency; Brig Gen IS Ali, DHQ (DDL); Brig Gen AM Dauda, NDC; Brig Gen JO Iwara, AHQ DASE; Brig Gen TT Numbere, PHDL; Brig Gen OR Aiyenigba, Office of the COAS (OMT), Brig Gen NC Ugbo, NASS; Brig Gen SG Mohammed, HQ 23 Bde; Brig Gen GU Chibu; HQ 19 Bde; Brig Gen H Ahmed, HQ Nigerian Army Corp of Military Police.

In addition, Brig Gen BU Yahaya , S1 List (Nigerian Embassy Cairo), Brig Gen AS Ndalolo (N/9704) – S1 List (NHC London); Brig Gen AA Fayemiwo, Armed Forces Command and Staff College; Brig Gen IM Jallo, HQ 63 Bde; Brig Gen E Akerejola, AHQ DOAL; Brig Gen HG Tafida, Nigerian Army School of Electrical and Mechanical Engineers; Brig Gen PI Eze; HQ TC OPLD; Brig Gen AJ Fagge, Ministry of Defence; Brig Gen AI Taiwo, 81 Military Intelligrnce Brigade; Brig Gen S Dahiru, MLAILPKC; Brig Gen ML Augie, Nigerian Defence Academy; Brig Gen BH Mohammed, Nigerian Military School; Brig Gen BA Tsoho, NACOE; Brig Gen MK Yunusa, HQ Central Finance Office; Brig Gen LM Zakari, NAISET and Brig Gen R Abubakar have all been promoted as Major General.

Also promoted to a one-star General is the Acting Assistant Director, Army Public Relations, Colonel Sagir Musa, who is now a Brigadier General.

Others also promoted to Brigadiers General are Col IA Ajose, Headquarters, Training and Doctrine Command, Minna; Col AA Egbejule, AHQ DATI; Col OA Awolo, AHQ DATOPS; Col OA Fadairo, AHQ DATOPS; Col DK Zirkushu, HQ 1 Brigade; Col AA Garba, HQ TC (OPLD); Col DH Ndahi, HQ TC (OPLD); Col NM Sabo, Sector 3 ST (OPLD); Col NMS Nagidada, HQ 82 Division, Enugu.

The promoted officers will only wear their new ranks after they are officially decorated by their

The Military Secretary reiterated that the promotion would be promulgated in the Army Orders and Federal Government Gazette in due course.

Post Author: Friday Ekeoba