Yemi Osinbajo

Osinbajo Tasks D-8 Countries On Industrial Cooperation, Others

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo on Tuesday called on ministers of industry, trade and investment from the developing eight countries to fashion out workable strategies that would boost the level of industrial cooperation and economic integration among them.

He said this while declaring open the sixth D-8 Ministerial Meeting in Abuja. The D-8 was established in 1997 to primarily promote industrial and other economic activities in the global economy using the same platform to fast-track the position of member countries’ activities. Countries that make up the D-8 are Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey.

Osinbajo said maintenance of peace and justice in the D-8 countries was necessary, especially with the social upheavals, conflicts and tensions flaring up everywhere. He told the ministers that while the global economy was having a challenging time, there were huge opportunities for countries that made up the D-8 group.


Photo Caption: Vice President Yemi Osinbajo

Post Author: Friday Ekeoba