Niger LG polls: APC Sweeps 22 LGAs, PDP One, Two Council Results Still Being Awaited

Olabode Adaramola, Niger State
The All Progressive Party (APC) in Niger state  has won 22 chairmanship positions,  leaving Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with 1 local government,  while the results of 2 local governments were  still pending.
Announcing the results at the  state’s Independent Electoral Commission (NSIEC) by the chairman of the commission,  Alhaji Aminu Baba who said that 9 political parties participated in the just concluded local government elections, adding  that 85 candidates participated in the chairmanship elections while 661 councelorship candidates also participated all in the 25 local government areas of the state.
Baba stated further  that the results  Mashegu and Tafa local governments were still pending while six wards were declared inconclusive.
He however expressed appreciation to Nigerlites for the peaceful conducts  of the the council polls people throughout the exercise most especially security agencies and the media for ensuring the violent free polls.
Meanwhile, the following local governments were won by the APC, Bosso, Bida, Magama, Kontagora, Rafi, Suleja, Paikoro, Shiroro, Wushishi, Rijau, Edati, Katcha, Mokwa, Agaie, Mariga, Lavun, Lapai, Gurara, Munya, Agwara, Borgu, Chanchaga, while Gbako local government was won by the PDP.

Post Author: Friday Ekeoba