Lyon, Diri Win Bayelsa APC, PDP Guber Primaries

Business mogul, David Lyon

By: Ariwera Ibibo-Howells, Yenagoa.

Business mogul, David Lyon Wednesday was declared winner of the gubernatorial primaries of the All Progressives Congress, APC in Bayelsa state ahead of the November, 16th 2019 governorship election.

Declaring the result, the party’s primary election committee chairman and governor of Yobe state, Alhaji Mai Mala Buni represented by Senator Emmanuel Dangana announced Chief David Lyon as winner, polling 42,138 votes to defeat commissioner of police, Mrs. Diseye Poweigha-Nsirim (rtd) who emerged first runner up with 1533 votes, former minister of state for agriculture, senator Heineken Lokpobiri who polled 571 votes and four others as losers respectively.

Reacting to the result, Lyon said his victory at the primaries is a sign that his support base in the party and outside the party is widespread, commending party faithful and the guber contenders to work towards the betterment of the party, stressing that as candidate of the party he would amongst others work vigorously for the victory of the party in the forth coming election.

Lyon noted that with the successful conduct of the primaries and his landslide victory all is now set for the APC to take over the reign of government in the state and taking Bayelsa to the next level in terms of infrastructural development, capacity building and human empowerment amongst others.

According to the guber candidate, making life meaningful for Bayelsans would be a priority when the APC forms the next government of the state, emphasizing that his wealth of experience in the private sector spanning years would be brought to bear in the development of the state.

Meanwhile, senator Lokpobiri has accused the APC primaries committee of doctoring result of the exercise, the two-term senator and former minister described a situation where according to him the result were declared in a venue other than the party secretariat as a way of falsifying and skewing the result to favour their preferred candidate, saying he would petition the result and seek redress at the party’s national secretariat.

In a related development, incumbent senator representing Bayelsa central, Douye Diri Tuesday was also declared winner of the gubernatorial primaries of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP in the state, scoring 561 votes to defeat his closest rival, Ndutimi Alaibe who polled 365 out of the total 1253 votes cast.

Announcing the result, governor of Taraba state and chairman of the guber committee primaries, Darius Ishaku gave the total number of accredited delegates as 1253 while total valid votes was 1237 just as total number of invalid votes were 16.

Further break down of the number of votes polled by aspirants were, Keniebi Okoko 142, Joshua Maciver 7, Reuben Okoya 19, Fred Agbedi 18, Konbowei Benson 24, and Benson Agadaga 3 votes respectively.

Other figures are, Franklyn Osaisai 4, Kemela Okara 4, Ambassador Godknows Igali 4, and Robinson Etolor 4. While Nimbofa Ayawei polled 7, Johnson Kyramo got 3, Mrs. Tari Oliver 0, Senator Paulker Emmanuel 2, the incumbent deputy governor, Rear Admiral John Jonah (rtd) polled 62 votes.

Post Author: Friday Ekeoba