Bayelsa Inaugurates 12th NSE Branch Exco…As NSE President, Oguntala Tasks On Purposeful Leadership

The Bayelsa state branch of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE) Thursday inaugurated its 12th state executive council members.

In his inaugural address, the new branch chairman, Engr. Edoghotu Boyibim Jonah gave the assurances that the society under his stewardship would be recommitted towards the unity and progress of the engineering profession in the state.

Edoghotu stressed the importance of collaboration with all of divisions of the society, describing it as key in their effort to make greater impact and to stamp out quackery in the profession.

He noted that the bane of the profession’s development over the years is lack of unity of purpose, saying however that the problem of faulty engineering is mostly not associated with works executed by registered Engineers, but patronage of quacks.

The chairman commended members of the society in the state for their resilience and commitment towards building the profession, just as he averred that past chairmen and other executive members of the NSE have laid a solid foundation for the state branch of the society.

He said: “Sincerely, I owe a great depth of gratitude to all my predecessors who charted this part of honour for us to tread. If I can do anything better it’s because I’m standing on the shoulders of 11 great leaders who’re also tapping from their wealth of experience.

“I’ve a six-point agenda for the NSE, Bayless state chapter. But the most important of this six-point agenda is unity of the chapter. If we’re able to work on unity every other thing would be added to us as members of the NSE here in the state.

Other members of the 12th exco are, Engr. Adou Doubara David, Vice Chairman, Engr. (Mrs) Deborah Ebimiekumo, Secretary, Engr.(Mrs) Idubamo Rebecca, Treasurer, Engr. Abhon Adus, Technical Secretary and Engr. (Mrs) Diepriye Owana-Omubo, Assistant Secretary.

Members of the executive also include Engr. Dr. Ebiyeritei Wisdom, Financial Secretary, Engr. Dr. Happiness Mac-Eteli, Assistant Technical Secretary, while Engr.(Chief) James Sokari Karimo and Engr. Eluanatein Mac-Jokori are to serve as Ex-officios one and two respectively.

Earlier in his welcome address, outgoing chairman of the branch, Engr. James Sokari Karimo thanked members of the society for the support given him and the entire executive members of the 11th exco of the society under his leadership.


He charged members of the profession to extend same cooperation to the Edoghotu-led 12th exco, saying that under his reign the NSE was able to commence the building of its permanent state secretariat.

In a lecture titled, “The role of engineering in advancing society’s proficiency in sustainable development”, guest lecturer, Engr. Dr. Eruni Uku Philip, the Acting Head of Department, Chemical Engineering, Federal University, Otuoke eulogized engineers world over for their intellectual prowess on innovation, science and technology.

She said the engineering profession through various research is at the fore front of driving sustainable development through the design of innovative solutions that minimizes environmental impact, optimize resource usage and by promoting social equity, amongst other.

Meanwhile, the NSE President, Engr. (Mrs) Margaret Aina Oguntala has said she was committed towards making the practice of the engineering profession under her leadership more worthwhile in the country.

She tasked leadership of the state branch of the society not to relent in its effort to make the society better.

Represented by the NSE Vice President, Engr. Bemigho Ofoeyena, the society’s helmsman eulogized the leadership 9f the state’s branch for their resilience and hard work.

She noted that with unity and deliberate and concerted efforts at getting rid-off quackery in the profession the sky was the limit for the state’s branch’s achievement.

National Wire reports that highpoint of the event was the induction of new members of the society and the presentation of awards of excellence to the state Commissioner of Works and Infrastructure, ESV. Moses Teibowei, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry, Dr. Barr. Johnson Dangana, amongst others.

Check Also

Halilu Awarded Royal African Young Leadership Award

A week after receiving the Engineering and Innovation meritorious award at the Nigerian Excellence Awards in Public Service (NEAPS), the Executive Vice Chairman of the National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI), Mr. Khalil