13 incumbent Senators, Reps Lose Seats In Anambra

A total of 13 incumbent National Assembly members from Anambra, have lost their seats, except Sen. Ifeanyi Ubah of the Young Progressives Party (YPP) who represents Anambra South.

This happened in the aftermath of the conduct and consequent announcement of the Feb. 25, elections result by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The breakdown, showed that two senators and all the 11 House of Representatives members in the state, lost their seats at the National Assembly.

Out of the three senatorial seats, Labour Party (LP) got two, while YPP got one; and out of the 11 House of Rep seats, LP clinched six seats, All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) won four seats while YPP won a seat.

Sen. Uche Ekwunife and Sen. Stella Oduah, both of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who represent Anambra Central and North respectively, lost their seats to candidates of LP, Sen. Victor Umeh and Mr Tony Nwoye.

In Idemili North/South Federal Constituency, Mr Obinna Chidoka of PDP, an incumbent who had occupied the seat for 12 years, lost to Mr Uchenna Okonkwo, a first timer, who contested under the platform of LP.

In Onitsha North/South Federal Constituency, Mrs Lynda Ikpeazu to of PDP, who occupied the seat since 2015, also lost to Mr Emeka Idu of LP,. while in Ogbaru Federal constituency, Mr Chukwuka Onyema of PDP, lost to a LP candidate, Mr Afamefuna Ogene.


In Oyi/Ayamelum Federal Constituency, Mr Vincent Ofumelu of PDP, lost his seat to the candidate of APGA, Mrs Maureen Gwacham, while Mr Chinedu Obidigwe of Anambra East/West Federal Constituency, lost his seat, Mr Peter Udogalanya of LP.

In Dunukofia/Njikoka/Anaocha Federal Constituency, Mr Ozodinobi Ibezimako of LP, won, while the incumbent, Mr Dozie Nwankwo, who went for Senate, lost to Sen. Umeh of LP.

In Orumba North and South, Mrs Chinwe Nnabuife of YPP, defeated Mr Okwudili Ezenwankwo of PDP, while in Aguata Federal Constituency, Mr Dominic Okafor of APGA, won, while the incumbent, Mr Chuma Umeoji of PDP, contested for a seat in the Senate and lost.

In Nnewi North/South and Ekwusigo Federal Constituency, Mr Uchenna Eleodimmuo of APGA, won, while the incumbent, Mr Chris Azubogu of APGA opted to contest for Senate, and lost, while in Ihiala Federal Constituency, Mr Chudi Momah of PDP, lost, while Dr Pascal Agbodike of APGA won.

In the last Federal Constituency, in Awka North/South, the incumbent Chief Chinedu Onwuaso of PDP, did not get the party’s ticket to contest, and the seat was taken from PDP by Prof. Lilian Orogbu of LP, who won.

Post Author: Friday Ekeoba